Golden Pencil

Kamen Rider Double

with 4 comments

So I watched Kamen Rider Double last night, which premiered yesterday. It wasn’t as good as I expected it to be. Minor spoilers are included, so have fun with that.

Compared to the first episode of Decade: the opening was not as epic as Decade was, the action was not as intense as Decade was, the character(s) are not as old as Decade was. Overall, it was not as good as Decade was.

Sure, it has its great moments in the beginning of the show where they henshin the first time, followed by some “this is my fate, my destiny, to be a Kamen Rider” type music. But that’s really all there is. Action was only okay, CGI was boring, and the henshin sequence was nothing special. Not to mention the terrible sound effects for the Double Driver.

Kamen Rider series always goes down with this sequence: Epic for the first ~10 episodes, getting boring, new rider, boring again, ULTIMATE FORM!, then followed by a crappy ending because all the budget for good CGI and props have all been given to the next Kamen Rider series. Which will follow the same sequence over again.

All I can say is, Kamen Rider is not as good as it used to be anymore. As a hardcore fan, there is nothing we can do but watch this whole series fall all over again; because I can’t just stop watching a show that I’ve been watching for so many years.

The reason why Double could not top Decade in my heart is because Decade can transform into any previous Heisei Kamen Riders and was given a badass title (Destroyer of worlds). And the ability to summon Riders by Diend and both of them kicking the ass out of any other previous riders was nothing short of pure awesome. Even though Decade’s ending was completely bullcrap, it was still a much celebrated series.

Maybe, just maybe, Double will get better; with a stronger back story and deeper characters. But I highly doubt it with these girly guys as Kamen Riders. One of them is like, 16 or something. Like com’on! What the hell is wrong with Toei?

Written by John L

September 6, 2009 at 9:24 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It gets better. 🙂

    Dizzy

    October 5, 2009 at 8:36 pm

    • I agree, Double is growing on me. I’m liking this dual a bit more every episode. The girl (Akiko) is still annoying as heck imo.

      It’s disappointing that their viewings are dropping though, source from 2chan:

      第01話…10.2%
      第02話…9.8%
      第03話…8.4%
      第04話…7.1%
      第05話…6.8%

      Hope they’d do better in the coming months.

      John L

      October 7, 2009 at 6:48 pm

  2. Kamen rider double is the worst kamen rider so far!! The story is boring, the action is boring the character is boring!!

    I never miss an episode of KR series .. but this is an exception.. I stopped on the 2nd episode

    Jackaroo

    December 1, 2009 at 2:29 am

  3. I am of the opinion that Double is really good who cares if it MAY not be as good as Decade was. At least they did something differently and yes the CGI might not be the best but AT LEAST theres something I came on here looking for something and all I heard was bad-mouthing of Double if you HATE it that much don’t watch it…..ALSO the characters AREN’T paper thin I KNOW what paper thin characters are these characters have more depth then you seem to think and their not boring…..anyways thats my piece take it or leave it and like me or hate me for it I don’t care if you delete this post but at least read it first.

    Dragoon

    May 13, 2010 at 12:44 pm


Leave a Reply

