Golden Pencil

Mac OS X Snow Leopard

leave a comment »

Apple’s latest operating system (Mac OS X 10.6) is releasing tomorrow, and I’m more excited than ever.

I remember when I first got my iMac and it had Tiger (Mac OS X 10.4) in it. I learned most of the basics of the mac from that before I switched to Leopard only a month later. It’s been two great years with Leopard (10.5).

By dumping all of the PowerPC codes and printer drivers, it left 6+GB of free HDD space. Also, the Grand Central Dispatch (GCD) allows better multicore processor support for Intel Macintosh (and ONLY Intel Macs). Plus the finder has been completely rewritten in Cocoa. Not to mention that it’s now in 64-bit. Stuff is going to be a lot faster around here. How fast? Twice as fast.

Can’t wait to get my copy tomorrow.

Written by John L

August 27, 2009 at 9:51 am

Leave a Reply

