Golden Pencil

iPhone 3.0 Software (Updated)

leave a comment »

Woke up this morning and the first thing I did was to check my phone and see if the dev team released a pwnagetool for 3.0 or not. They did.

It took me a while to get things straight with the update. I screwed up so many times it made me feel like a noob doing it. I’ve been jailbreaking iPods and iPhones since Firmware 1.2, I should know better.

IMG_0554

Anyways, let’s get on with the updates:

Spotlight
IMG_0543
It’s nice. It searches up everything; contacts, messages, mails, even third party programs. It’s.. great.

Messages
IMG_0551

IMG_0552

Previously known as the app Text. Now supports MMS and landscape keyboard. I can take pictures from the Messages app itself and send it to my contacts via MMS. Video sending is only available to 3G S users. I can also now selectively delete specific messages in a chatlog, which they should’ve implemented in sooner.

Copy and Paste
IMG_0548

IMG_0556

IMG_0557
It’s working perfectly. Although, I can’t copy pictures from web pages, just text. It claims that it can copy images too, so I’ll look into that later.

Mail
IMG_0553
Now features a landscape keyboard and that’s pretty much it.

Voice Memos

IMG_0544

A nice little app for recording notes and such. Recording quality is pretty good, in a really quiet environment that is. Haven’t had the chance to try it in a noisy place yet though.

Camera

The quality is still same old. Shit.

The quality is still same old. Shit.

IMG_0550
Many other reviews out there say that it has improved a bit since the 2.2.1. I don’t see it, at all.

Stocks
IMG_0545

Now features landscape mode for better observations on movements of stocks, etc etc. I just never use it because I don’t need it (yet).

Internet Tethering
IMG_0555

I didn’t try it yet, I don’t know about the policy of Rogers on tethering so I will hold off that feature for now. Tethering worked flawlessly. Just pair your iPhone to your computer via bluetooth and connect your iPhone to the computer via USB. Or, connect your iPhone to your computer via USB and configure the network settings. Note: The phone gets incredibly hot.

Push Notifications

I currently don’t have any third party apps that use push right now, so I’ll look into that later.

Etc
IMG_0547
Mobile music player now features a search function on top of the playlist page every single section. Nice. The Shake to shuffle feature is too sensitive though, I recommend you turn it off.

See all the other minor updates here.

Written by John L

June 19, 2009 at 11:41 pm

Posted in iPhone 3G, Technology

Leave a Reply

